Chef Diaries: The Dissertation

Dear Diary,

When I think of my culinary brand, I think of change, prayer, and peace. I swear I am such a hippie. It’s who I am. Hope’s Kitchen has grown so much, I am proud of the baby I have birthed. If Hope’s Kitchen were described in a pictorial matter I would equate it to pink cherry blossoms covering a mother’s womb sharing in the joy of a newborn baking in her womb. Alas however, there’s still so much work to be done.

One evening while I was leaving Louisiana State University, I was discussing levels of education with a friend. We discussed our perceived insecurities of those who undergo both master’s and doctorate degrees and compared our intellectual backgrounds and exposure to culture and books. As we talked, I discovered that Hope’s Kitchen is my dissertation to the school of hard knocks as well as the American cooking industry. Food has been my passion since I was a little girl, but I never though it would grown into this. I realized that I am challenging not only American culture, but also international cooking and the natural tendencies of the human soul. I have been so dedicated to helping people’s body’s and minds and yet I haven’t lost myself. Instead, I heal.

Leave a Reply

